Most accounts and their associated records can be deleted in one click—but some accounts can’t be deleted until associations have been removed.
|Business accounts available in: Both Salesforce Classic and Lightning Experience|
Business accounts available in: All Editions
|Person accounts available in: Salesforce Classic and Lightning Experience|
Person accounts available in Enterprise, Performance, Unlimited, and Developer Editions
|To view accounts:||“Read” on accounts|
|To delete accounts:||“Delete” on accounts|
If you can delete an account, you will see Delete
as an option on the account’s detail page and on its row on the account list page in both Salesforce Classic and Lightning Experience. If you don’t see the delete option, you don’t have permission to delete the account. Ask your Salesforce administrator for help.
Deleted accounts are moved to the Recycle Bin, along with these associated items.
You can’t access the recycle bin from Lightning Experience, but deleted items still go into it. Switch to Salesforce Classic temporarily to view or restore recycle bin items.
- Contracts (if they're not activated)
- Portal roles and groups (if all portal users in the account are disabled.)
- Partner relationships
- Relationship group members
If you restore an account from the Recycle Bin, any related items are also restored except for:
You can’t delete an account if:
- You don’t have the “Delete” permission on accounts
- You aren’t the account’s owner, above the account’s owner in the organization role hierarchy; or an administrator
- The account is enabled as a partner account; it has associated cases, activated contracts, or related opportunities that are owned by other users; or it has associated contacts that are enabled for the Self-Service portal.
In addition, if you attempt to delete an account that has closed/won opportunities owned by you, a message displays asking you whether you want to delete the closed/won opportunities along with the account or to cancel the account deletion.
You don’t need the “Delete” permission on any associated records that are included in the deletion.