You can merge accounts if you’re an administrator, the account owner, or a user above the account owner in the role hierarchy and you have the appropriate user permissions (”Delete” on accounts and “Edit” on related objects, such as opportunities and cases).
For organizations that use Professional, Enterprise, Unlimited, Performance, or Developer editions, any sharing rules are applied to the newly merged account. Also, any manual sharing from the master record is applied to the merged account.
If you try to merge accounts that are indirectly related to the same contact, you’ll get an error telling you to remove the duplicate relationships. On account records, indirect relationships are managed from the Related Contacts related list.
Items related to the original accounts become related to the newly merged account.
The newly merged account retains the account hierarchy from the master record.
The original accounts are moved to the Recycle Bin.
On the newly merged account, the Created By field takes the date from the oldest merged account. The Last Modified By field uses the date the records were merged.
In organizations that use divisions, the newly merged account is assigned to the division from the master record, unless you select otherwise.
The newly merged account retains all the team members from merged accounts, even if the members are from different teams.
To merge accounts that a team member has greater record-level access than you do, you must have the ”Modify All Data” permission on accounts. For example, if you’re the account owner who’s merging the accounts but an account team member has more access than you on any account child records, you need the “Modify All Data” permission to merge those accounts.
If your organization uses person accounts, both business accounts and person accounts are returned when you search for duplicates. However, you can’t merge a person account with a business account or vice versa. Person accounts are indicated by the person account icon ().
You can't merge person accounts that are enabled to use a Customer Portal.
You must have the “Manage Users” permission to merge accounts associated with portals.
To merge accounts that have contacts associated with a portal, the contacts must have the same type of portal.
When merging accounts that have contacts associated with multiple portals of the same type, a contact's access to a specific portal doesn’t change. This is because a portal user's profile determines the portal he or she can access.
When merging a partner account with a non-partner account, the partner account must be selected as the master record.
When merging partner accounts with a non-partner account, the owner can’t be changed.
To ensure that the newly merged account includes contacts associated with a portal, select the account with portal users as the master record.
If none of the original accounts has Exclude from account assignment rules selected, then account assignment rules run on the newly merged account to determine its territories. Also, any territories that were manually added to the original accounts are manually added to the new account.
If at least one of the original accounts has Exclude from account assignment rules selected, then the following happens.
Account assignment rules don’t run on the newly merged account.
The newly merged account inherits all of the territories from the original accounts.
If assignment rules were used to assign territories to the original accounts, it appears as if assignment rules are also used to assign territories to the newly merged account, even if the rules don't apply to the newly merged account.
If a territory was manually assigned to one of the original accounts, the territory is manually assigned to the newly merged account.
If a territory was added to one account manually and to another account by rules, the territory is manually added to the newly merged account.
If a territory was manually assigned to one of the original accounts (for models in all states), the territory is manually added to the newly merged account, if not already there.
Account assignment rules run on the merged account for the active territory model only if you select Select by default for the Evaluate this account against territory rules on save checkbox on the applicable account page layout’s layout properties.
If the merged value of Exclude from territory assignment rules = true, then: 1) territory assignment rules are not evaluated even if the Select by default checkbox for the Evaluate this account against territory rules on save checkbox is selected on the applicable account page layout’s layout properties; and 2) any existing rule based territory associations in the active model are removed from the merged account.
For territory models in non-active states (Planning or Archived), rule-based associated territories don’t change on the merged account even if the merged account field values do not match the rules.