Create public, private, and unlisted Chatter groups to collaborate with your teams and work together on projects.
Available in: both Salesforce Classic and Lightning Experience
Available in: Group, Enterprise, Professional, Performance, Unlimited, Contact Manager, and Developer Editions
User Permissions Needed
“To create groups”
“Create and Own New Chatter Groups”
Navigate to the list of groups.
In Salesforce Classic, click the Groups tab.
In Lightning Experience, click in the navigation menu.
To the upper-right, click New Group, and enter a group name and description.
Group names must be unique across public and private groups. Unlisted groups don’t require unique names.
If Communities is enabled, public and private group names must be unique within the community.
Select an access level:
Public: Anyone can see and add posts, comments, and files. Anyone can join a public group.
Private: Only group members can see and add posts, comments, and files. People must ask to join or be added by the group's owner or managers. Users with the “Modify All Data” and “View All Data” permission can see group posts, updates, and files across the organization. Users with the “Manage All Data” permission can also join private groups directly and change group settings.
Unlisted: Only group members and users with the “Manage Unlisted Groups” permission can see and add posts, comments, and files. People cannot ask to join and must be invited by the group’s owner or managers. Unlisted groups offer more privacy and nonmembers cannot see or access unlisted groups in list views, feeds, and in search results. Unlisted groups aren’t available by default; your administrator must enable them for your organization.
Optionally, select Allow Customers. The group owner and managers can invite customers to join a private or unlisted group. You can easily identify groups with customers by the orange upper left corner of the group photo.
After you allow customers in a group, you can't change the group access level.
Optionally, if your administrator has enabled group archiving, change the automatic archiving settings for the group. Disable automatic archiving only if a group must remain active at all times, despite extended periods of inactivity.