Edit the group settings to change the owner, modify archiving settings, group access level, and delete the group.
Available in: both Salesforce Classic and Lightning Experience
Available in: Group, Enterprise, Professional, Performance, Unlimited, Contact Manager, and Developer Editions
User Permissions Needed
To edit public or private Chatter groups:
Group owner or group manager role
“Modify All Data” to edit public and private groups
“Manage Unlisted Groups” to edit unlisted groups
You can edit settings for Chatter groups you own or manage.
Click Group Settings on the group detail page in the Salesforce Classic. In the Lightning Experience, click Edit Group from the buttons in the group header.
Optionally, edit the group name and description.
Optionally, type a name or click the lookup icon to search the group members to assign a new Owner. Only the current owner or people with the “Modify All Data” permission can change the owner, and you must choose the owner from existing members. Customers can't own groups.
Optionally, if your administrator has enabled archiving for groups, edit the automatic archiving settings for the group. Disable automatic archiving only if a group must remain active at all times, despite extended periods of inactivity.
Optionally, change the access level for the group. For example, you can convert an unlisted group to a public or private group if you want to open it up to a wider audience.
If you change a private group to public, updates and files are visible to all users, all pending requests to join the group are accepted, and anyone can join the group. Private groups with customers can’t be converted to other group types.
Public: Anyone can see and add posts, comments, and files. Anyone can join a public group.
Private: Only group members can see and add posts, comments, and files. People must ask to join or be added by the group's owner or managers. Users with the “Modify All Data” and “View All Data” permission can see group posts, updates, and files across the organization. Users with the “Manage All Data” permission can also join private groups directly and change group settings.
Unlisted: Only group members and users with the “Manage Unlisted Groups” permission can see and add posts, comments, and files. People cannot ask to join and must be invited by the group’s owner or managers. Unlisted groups offer more privacy and nonmembers cannot see or access unlisted groups in list views, feeds, and in search results. Unlisted groups aren’t available by default; your administrator must enable them for your organization.
Optionally, select Allow Customers. The group owner and managers can invite customers to join a private or unlisted group. You can easily identify groups with customers by the orange upper left corner of the group photo.
After you allow customers in a group, you can't change the group access level.
If you have the necessary permissions, you can also: