Consider key points before you merge duplicate contacts.
|Available in: Salesforce Classic|
|Available in: All Editions|
Customer Portal is available in: Enterprise, Performance, Unlimited, and Developer Editions
Partner Portal is available in: Enterprise, Performance, and Unlimited Editions
- You can only merge contacts that have the same primary account. The primary account is the account listed in the Account Name field on the contact record.
- If you try to merge contacts that are indirectly related to the same account, you’ll get an error telling you to remove the duplicate relationship. On contact records, indirect relationships are managed from the Related Accounts related list.
- Some items related to the discarded duplicate contacts become related to the newly merged contact. Examples include campaign history, cases, case teams, attachments, notes, and opportunities. Chatter feeds from the discarded records are not kept.
- Some settings and related information are taken from the master record and are applied to the newly merged record. Examples include sharing settings, meeting invites, account divisions, the Reports To field value, and Read-only and hidden fields. (Administrators and users with the “Edit Read Only Fields” permission can manually select which read-only fields to retain.)
- The discarded duplicate contacts are moved to the Recycle Bin.
- On the newly merged contact, the Created By field takes the date from the oldest merged contact. The Last Modified By field uses the date the records were merged.
- If the duplicate contacts are members of different campaigns, the date in the Member Status Updated field is retained for each contact and associated with the newly merged contact.
- There can be only one active self-service user, so deactivate any additional Self-Service users before merging contacts. The merged contact adopts the active Self-Service username.