Most contacts can be deleted with one click. However, before you delete a contact, be aware of who can delete contacts and what happens to records that are associated with deleted contacts.
|Available in: both Salesforce Classic and Lightning Experience|
|Available in: All Editions|
- You can delete a contact if you’re an administrator, the contact owner, or a user above the contact owner in the organization role hierarchy, and if you have the “Delete” permission on the Contact object. If you meet these requirements, you’ll see Delete as an option on the contact’s detail page and on its row on the contact list page in.
- If you delete a contact, these associated records are also deleted. You don’t need the “Delete” permission on the associated records.
Accounts, entitlements, and opportunities that are associated with the contact aren’t deleted.
- Assets (without cases)
- Campaign history
- The deleted contact is moved to the Recycle Bin. If you undelete the contact, any associated records are restored, including any inactive Self-Service usernames.
- If you delete or remove an activity’s primary contact, another contact becomes the primary contact in its place. You can edit the activity to manually select another primary contact.
- You can’t delete contacts that have these records associated with them.
- Assets (with cases)
- Partner user
- Service contracts
- Active Self-Service users
- Active Customer Portal users