When working with notes, there a number of things to keep in mind. This list includes details about using notes taken with Notes, our enhanced note-taking tool, and notes taken with the old note-taking tool.
|Available in: Salesforce Classic and Lightning Experience|
|Available in: Contact Manager, Group, Professional, Enterprise, Performance, Unlimited, and Developer Editions|
- To edit a note associated with a record, you must be able to edit its associated record.
- To delete a note that’s associated with a record, you must be the owner of the note OR the owner of the associated record.
- To delete a note that’s not associated with a record, you must be the owner of the note.
- All notes added to contacts and opportunities roll up under the associated account as well.
Considerations Just for the Old Note-Taking Tool
- You can only restore deleted notes in Salesforce Classic. To restore deleted notes, use the Recycle Bin.
- You can only delete notes from Salesforce Classic.
- If a note is marked private, it’s only accessible to the person who created or attached it.
- If you publish notes to external contacts via Salesforce to Salesforce, all public notes are automatically shared with a connection when you share the parent object. Attachments are automatically shared if the Share With Connections checkbox on the attachment is selected. To stop sharing a note or attachment, select Private.