Print this page

I just de-activated a user. Why can't I create a new user?

Knowledge Article Number 000003753
Description Unable to Create a New User even after an existing User is Just Deactivated.

Normally,  when a user record is deactivated, the license that was in use can be re-used for another user of the same type. 

In some cases, however, user deactivation does not release a license to re-use. This occurs if the org had more active users than it has licenses for.

For example, say an org had at one point 10 licenses and there were 10 active users with those licenses.  Then later, during a contract renewal, the org reduced the number of licenses to 5.

If the 10 users are still active, the org will have net -5 licenses.  When one user is deactivated in this condition, there will still be net -4 licenses. New users cannot be created until the number of available licenses is greater than zero.

Users with the 'Manage Billing' permission on their profile can use Checkout to order more licenses and products or contact our Sales dept. 

To access Checkout, navigate to Setup | Checkout Summary, then click on the "Proceed to Checkout" button.

For more info about Checkout, please see the "Managing Billing & Licenses" article in the Help & Training portal.

promote demote