Print this page

Profile Permissions being reset automatically

Knowledge Article Number 000188401
Description
There are instances where you will notice that Profile permissions on certain object(s) are automatically resetting without changing anything on the Profile side. 
Resolution

This is caused by the "View All Data" and "Modify All Data" permissions in the "Administrative Permissions" setting of each and every profile. Once these permissions are enabled in a Profile, it automatically gives the Profile the Create, Read, Edit and Delete permissions on ALL objects regardless of the previous setting.

You need to make sure that the "View All Data" and "Modify All Data" permissions in the "Administrative Permissions" are not enabled so that this will not reset the permission an all objects. To check this setting, you need to follow the steps below:

 
1. Using the Original Profile Interface.
 
- Click on Setup | Manage Users | Profiles.
- Select the Profile that you need to edit.
- Click on "Edit".
- On the "Administrative Permissions" section, make sure that the following are disabled: "View All Data" and "Modify All Data"
- Click "Save".
 
 
2. Using the Enhanced Profile Interface.
 
- Click on Setup | Manage Users | Profiles.
- Select the Profile that you need to edit.
- Click on "System Permissions".
- Click on "Edit".
- Make sure that the following are disabled: "View All Data" and "Modify All Data".
- Click "Save".




promote demote