Print this page

Reconnect or Reauthorize Social Accounts in Social Studio

Knowledge Article Number 000199630
Description

Your social account can be disconnected from Social Studio for reasons such as:
 

  • Your authorized connection has expired. For example, LinkedIn's connection (token) expires every 60 days.
  • You revoked Social Studio access to your social account.
  • You changed your social account's username or password.

Important: Changing your Social Studio user password does not disconnect your social account.
Resolution
You must reconnect your social account in Social Studio to continue receiving incoming and outgoing posts, comments, and analytics for your pages and accounts. Any Super User with the proper credentials for the social account can reauthorize it, regardless of who originally registered it. The Super User can either do this from the notification email of the expired connection (For Linkedin Only), the Social Accounts List, or Social Account Edit. 

Good to know: If a social account becomes "disconnected," it doesn't count towards the total Social Account Entitlements in your Organization. You also must have available Social Account Entitlements in order to reauthorize the account.

If you experience any further issues while trying to reconnect your social account, please reach out to Salesforce Marketing Cloud Support.



Notification Email of Expired Connection for Linkedin


For only Linkedin social accounts, you are sent a notification email eight, five, and two days prior to Social Studio's connection to your Linkedin social account expiring. If you don't reauthorize your account before the connection expires, you're sent a final notification email after it expires.

 
1. Click Reauthorize Account in the notification email
2. On the "Reauthorize Account" pop up, confirm that the account you have access to is displayed, and then click Reauthorize
3. If you're prompted, enter your username and password for the social account
You are redirected back to Social Studio
4. The message "Social account successfully reauthorized" appears in Social Studio to confirm that your social account is reconnected

 

Social Accounts List

 
1. Log in to Social Studio
2. Go to Your name | Admin
3. Click Social Accounts
4. Locate the page or account registered.
There is an orange bar above the pages or accounts with an expired or invalid connection
5. Click Reauthorize in the orange bar above your page or account name
6. On the "Reauthorize Account" pop up, confirm that the account you have access to is displayed, and then click Reauthorize
7. If you're prompted, enter your username and password for your social account
You're redirected back to Social Studio
8. The message "Social account successfully reauthorized" appears in Social Studio to confirm that your social account is reconnected

 

Social Account Edit


You can complete these steps at any time. You do not need a disconnected account or a notification email of token expiry to reauthorize Social Studio's connection to your social account.

 
1. Log in to Social Studio
2. Go to Your Name Admin
3. Click Social Accounts.
4. Click the name of the page or account to open your social account settings
5. Click Edit
6. Under "Status," click Reauthorize
7. On the "Reauthorize Account" pop up, confirm that the account you have access to is displayed, and then click Reauthorize
8. If you're prompted, enter your username and password for your social account
You're redirected back to Social Studio
9. The message "Social account successfully reauthorized" appears in Social Studio to confirm that your social account is reconnected




promote demote