Loading
Prepare for Email to Become the Default Login ExperienceRead More
Manage Users and Data Access
Keep Manual Shares When Transferring Records

Keep Manual Shares When Transferring Records

By default, when ownership of a record is transferred, Salesforce deletes manual shares on the record, which can cause users to lose record access. Enable the “Keep manual shares when transferring records” setting to retain manual shares when a record’s owner changes.

Required Editions

Available in: both Lightning Experience and Salesforce Classic
Available in: Professional, Enterprise, Performance, Unlimited, and Developer Editions
User Permissions Needed
To modify sharing settings: Manage Sharing
  1. From Setup, in the Quick Find box, enter Sharing Settings, and then select Sharing Settings.
  2. Click Edit in the Organization-Wide Defaults area.
  3. Select Keep manual shares when transferring records.
  4. Save your changes.
 
Loading
Salesforce Help | Article