Loading
Salesforce Enforces New Security Requirements in Summer 2026Read More
Enablement Sites (myTrailhead)
Considerations for Managing Content in Trailmaker Content

Considerations for Managing Content in Trailmaker Content

In Trailmaker Content, your workspace is where you set up new trails or modules based on drafts that you already created and finalized in another collaboration tool. You can also import backpacks for trails and modules that other content creators have created.

Required Editions

Available in: Enterprise, Performance, and Unlimited Editions
User Roles and Permissions
Enablement Site User Roles  
This topic supports these enablement site roles: Content Creators
Required System Permissions  
To create and edit content with Trailmaker Content: Create Content

Collaborate on Content

Your workspace is local only to you, and other collaborators can’t access the content that you created or imported there. To enable collaboration with other users who have their own local workspaces, use these techniques:

Manage backpacks in a version control system (VCS)
Each time you finish a round of updates, download your content’s backpack, and submit it to a VCS. You can download a backpack from your Trailmaker Content workspace or from the Released Content tabs in Trailmaker Release. Another collaborator can then access the backpack, modify it, and check it back into the VCS. You can then access the same backpack and import it into your workspace. A VCS provides a way for collaborators to manage access to content, track changes between versions, and revert to older versions.
Delete content from work local workspace
Ensure that you and other collaborators are always importing the latest version from the VCS. Otherwise, one user can unintentionally persist the version from their local workspace in between rounds of collaboration, which can overwrite changes that other collaborators have made.
Tip
Tip Before you begin working with trails and modules in Trailmaker Content, we recommend that you author, review, and finalize drafts of your content in a word processor or collaboration tool.

If you’re collaborating with other users on content in the same release cycle, we recommend that you always follow this process.

  1. Set up the first iteration of your content.
    1. In your local Trailmaker Content workspace, create trails or modules.
    2. Optionally, preview the modules in Trailmaker Content.
    3. Download the backpacks of your trails or modules from Trailmaker Content.
    4. Submit the backpacks to your company’s VCS.
    5. Delete the trails or modules from your workspace.
  2. Share your version of the content with a collaborator to make updates.
    1. The collaborator gets the backpacks from your company’s VCS.
    2. The collaborator imports the backpacks into their local Trailmaker Content workspace.
    3. The collaborator edits the content.
    4. The collaborator previews the content in Trailmaker Content.
    5. The collaborator downloads the updated backpacks from Trailmaker Content.
    6. The collaborator submits the updated backpacks to your company’s VCS.
    7. The collaborator deletes the trails or modules from their local workspace.
  3. When the content is ready to be a published, a release manager—a user with the Manage Releases permission—gets the final version of your content ready for publication.
    1. The release manager gets the backpacks from your company’s VCS.
    2. The release manager imports the backpacks into their own local Trailmaker Content workspace.
    3. The release manager adds the content to an unpublished release and completes other prerelease activities, such as previewing the release and correcting errors and warnings.
    4. The release manager publishes the release.
    5. The release manager downloads the backpacks of the latest, published version of content from Trailmaker Release. Then, the release manager submits the backpacks to your company’s VCS.
    6. The release manager deletes the trails or modules from their local workspace.

For more information about the steps of this process, check out:

Delete Content

To delete content from your workspace, select Delete from the content’s Actions menu.

Trailmaker Content workspace, showing actions menu for a module
Warning
Warning You can’t undo a deletion. We recommend that you always download the content’s backpack and save it in your company’s VCS before you delete content from your workspace.

Save Content

Trailmaker Content saves your changes to the cloud every few seconds, and it shows a timestamp for when your work was most recently saved. You can’t revert to an earlier version of a trail or module, but you can use the undo function when editing a unit.

 
Loading
Salesforce Help | Article