You are here:
Enable Customizable Rollups
Turn on functionality to define which fields to roll up and the filters to use. If Customizable Rollups aren't necessary for your organization, disable or reset them.
If you're starting from an NPSP Trial in version 3.155 (May 2019) or later, Customizable Rollups are enabled by default. All other orgs will need to enable Customizable Rollups. If you don't know which version of NPSP you're using, check out Which Version of NPSP Am I Using? to find out.
Before enabling Customizable Rollups, be sure to review Things to Know Before Enabling Customizable Rollups. Also, remember that enabling Customizable Rollups disables User Defined Rollup creation in your org. The User Defined Rollup node will disappear from NPSP Settings, but all UDRs previously created in your org will be preserved and converted to Customizable Rollups.
To enable Customizable Rollups:
-
Click the NPSP Settings tab. If you don't see the tab, find it in the App Launcher (
). - Click .
- Click the button to switch to Enabled.

It may take a few moments for NPSP to convert all of your existing rollups. You can safely leave the page. When the deployment is finished, you'll see a Configure Customizable Rollups button that you can use to view the list of Customizable Rollups. Keep in mind that this list will already be populated with all of the NPSP out-of-box rollups and any User Defined Rollups that already existed in your org. You're now ready to edit them or create new ones!

Disable Customizable Rollups
If you decide that Customizable Rollups aren't for you, you can go back to the original rollups functionality. When you disable, rollups go back to the way they worked before you enabled Customizable Rollups. Keep in mind that any changes made while Customizable Rollups was enabled will be retained and visible if Customizable Rollups is enabled again. While the configuration data will continue to exist, it will have no effect on your org.
- In NPSP Settings, go to .
- Click the button to switch to Disabled.
- Click Save.
After you disable Customizable Rollups, the old Rollup batch jobs are re-scheduled for that night. If you want to see the rollups recalculated right away, you'll have to manually run the jobs. To do so, go to and click Run Batch.
Reset Customizable Rollups
If needed, you can reset Customizable Rollups back to its original defaults. We recommend you use this feature with caution and only if you want to completely wipe out any changes you made while using Customizable Rollups.
Resetting Customizable Rollups makes the following changes:
- Removes any new rollups, filter groups, and filter rules you created while using Customizable Rollups.
- Resets all NPSP legacy rollups (including any User Defined Rollups) back to their default behavior. This means that the legacy NPSP rollups and User Defined Rollups will be reset to how they were configured when you first enabled Customizable Rollups. You'll lose any customizations you made to them since then.
If you want to turn off Customizable Rollups, but preserve changes you made while using the feature, we recommend disabling the feature instead.
