Loading
Salesforce Enforces New Security Requirements in Summer 2026Read More
Collaborate with Everyone
Who Can See My File?

Who Can See My File?

Your files in Salesforce can be private to you, privately shared, or visible to your entire company. Learn how to identify a file’s sharing settings and how to change them.

Required Editions

Available in: Salesforce Classic and Lightning Experience
Available in: Group, Essentials, Professional, Enterprise, Performance, Unlimited, Developer, and Contact Manager Editions

This table describes file sharing settings that depend on how the file is shared. The sharing setting and icon appear on a file's detail page and on the Shared With list on a file detail page.

Sharing Setting Definition When Does a File Have This Setting?
Private Private The file is private. It hasn't been shared with anyone else besides the owner. The file owner and users with Modify All Data permission can find and view this file. However, if the file is in a private library, only the file owner has access to it.

A file is private when you:

  • Upload it in Files home
  • Publish it to your private library
  • Stop sharing it with everyone (Make Private)
  • Delete posts that include the file and the file isn't shared anywhere else
Privately Shared Privately Shared

The file has been shared only with specific people, groups, or via link. It's not available to all users in your company. Only the file owner, users with Modify All Data or View all Data permission, and specific file viewers can find and view this file.

External users see files posted to records they have access to, unless the record post was marked Internal Only.

A file is privately shared when it's:

  • Shared only with specific people or a private group
  • Posted to a private group
  • Shared via link
  • Posted to a feed on a record
  • Published to a shared library
Company-wide Your Company All users in your company can find and view this file.

A file is shared with your company when it's posted:

  • To a feed that all users can see
  • To a profile
  • To a record
  • To a public group

This table describes which actions you can perform on a file depending on your file permissions.

Action File Owner File Collaborator File Viewer
View or Preview Yes Yes Yes
Download Yes Yes Yes
Share Yes Yes Yes
Attach a File to a Post Yes Yes Yes
Upload New Version Yes Yes  
Edit Details Yes Yes  
Change Permission Yes Yes  
Make a File Private Yes    
Restrict Access Yes    
Delete Yes    
Note
Note
  • No Access means that only the people in your company with whom this file is shared can find or view the file. If the file is shared with a private group, only members of the group can find or view the file.
  • Users with Modify All Data permission have built-in access to files that they don’t own. They can view, preview, download, share, attach, make private, restrict access to, edit, upload new versions of, and delete files that they don't own. However, if the file is in a private library, then only the file owner has access to it.
  • Users with View All Data permission can view and preview files that they don't own. However, if the file is in a private library, then only the file owner has access to it.
  • Groups (including group members) and records have viewer permission for files posted to their feeds.
  • Permissions for files shared with libraries depend on the library.
 
Loading
Salesforce Help | Article