Consider key points before you merge duplicate contacts.
|Available in: Salesforce Classic|
|Available in: All Editions|
Customer Portal is available in: Enterprise, Performance, Unlimited, and Developer Editions
Partner Portal is available in: Enterprise, Performance, and Unlimited Editions
- Related items from duplicate contacts, such as opportunity or case information, are associated with the merged contact.
- Discarded duplicate records are moved to the Recycle Bin.
- The newly merged contact displays the Created By date from the oldest contact that you’re merging and shows the merge date as the Modified By date.
- Merging contacts isn’t tracked in the setup audit trail.
- The newly merged contact is included on any case teams in which the contacts were associated.
- The master contact replaces the duplicate contacts in all requested and scheduled meetings that they were invited to. However, make sure that you edit the event detail page and click Add to Invitees to add the new master contact to the meeting invitee list.
- All meeting messages written by the duplicate contacts are automatically associated with the master contact. (Meeting messages appear on the requested meeting’s web page and are visible to all invitees.)
- Any data in hidden or read-only fields is taken from the Master Record. However, administrators and users with the “Edit Read Only Fields” permission can manually select which read-only fields to retain.
- If you merge duplicate contacts that are members of different campaigns, the campaign Member Status Updated date for each contact is retained and associated with the newly merged contact.
- Before merging contacts that have active Self-Service usernames, deactivate one Self-Service username. The merged record adopts the active Self-Service username. For more information on the Self-Service username field, see Contact Fields.
- If you merge contacts that have Reports To relationships, the newly merged contact retains the Reports To field from the selected Master Record.
- Existing account sharing and manual sharing for the master contact are applied to the newly merged contact.