Loading
Prepare for Email to Become the Default Login ExperienceRead More
Collaborate with Everyone
Delete, Archive, and Restore Content

Delete, Archive, and Restore Content

There are two methods for removing content from libraries: archiving and deleting.

Required Editions

Available in: Salesforce Classic
Available in: Contact Manager, Group, Professional, Enterprise, Performance, Unlimited, and Developer Editions
User Permissions Needed
To archive and restore any content in the library: Archive Content checked in your library permission definition
To archive and restore content that you published: Add Content checked in your library permission definition
To delete content: Delete Content checked in your library permission definition

Archiving lets you continue to store files in Salesforce without them being in a library or exposed in search results. Deleting files moves them to the Recycle Bin, where files remain for 15 days before being permanently, automatically deleted. Within 15 days of deleting a file, you can restore it from the Recycle Bin. You can also restore archived files.

Before you delete or archive content, it's important to know what's similar and different about these two methods:

Effects of Archiving or Deleting Content Archived Content Deleted Content
Counts towards file storage limits (storage size as well as number of documents) Checkmark  
Removed from libraries Checkmark Checkmark
New versions can no longer be uploaded Checkmark Checkmark
Content can’t be downloaded (unless deleted content is restored within 15 days)   Checkmark
Content no longer appears in search results Checkmark Checkmark
Content can be restored Checkmark Checkmark
Automatically removed from subscription lists (without notifying subscribers) Checkmark Checkmark
Permanently deleted by emptying Recycle Bin   Checkmark

To archive or delete content files:

  1. On the Libraries, Content, or Subscriptions tab, click the name of the file you want to remove.
  2. On the Content Details page, click Edit | Archive Content or Edit | Delete Content.

To delete files in content packs:

  • By default, you must first delete the content pack, and then delete the file.
  • If your admin has enabled the Salesforce CRM Content setting that allows files to be deleted from content packs, you can delete a file without having to first remove it from a content pack. This removes all versions of that file from all content packs, including content packs you don’t have access to, like those in Private Libraries.

To restore archived content files:

  1. Do one of the following to open the Content Details page for an archived file:
    • Follow a bookmark to the archived content.
    • On the Libraries tab, click a library name to open the Library Detailspage. Click the View Archived Content link to see a list of archived content on the Content tab. Click the name of the content file you want to restore.
      Note
      Note The View Archived Content link only displays if you have the Archive Content, Add Content, or Manage Libraries privileges in your library permission. If you have the Archive Content or Manage Libraries privileges, you will see a list of all archived content in the library, regardless of author. If you do not have those privileges but have the Add Content privilege, you will only see archived content that you authored and archived.
  2. On the Content Details page, click Edit | Restore Content.

To restore deleted content:

  1. On either the Libraries or Subscriptions tab, or on the Content Details page, go to the Recycle Bin.
  2. Select the checkbox for the content file you want to restore, and click Undelete.
Note
Note
  • Authors can always archive and restore their own content. Authors do not require the Archive Content library permission option.
  • If a file is in Salesforce CRM Content and also posted in Chatter, archiving it doesn't remove the Chatter post.
  • Deleting a Chatter file from the content details page deletes the file from Salesforce CRM Content and from Chatter.
 
Loading
Salesforce Help | Article