Available in: Contact Manager, Group, Professional, Enterprise, Performance, Unlimited, Developer, and Database.com Editions
User Permissions Needed
To delete custom objects:
When you delete a custom object, Salesforce does not add it to the Recycle Bin. Instead, deleted objects appear in the Deleted Objects list for 15 days. During this time, the object and its data are soft deleted, meaning you can restore or permanently erase (hard delete) the object and its data. After 15 days, the object and its data are automatically hard deleted.
Soft-deleted custom objects and their data count against your organization’s limits; hard-deleted items do not.
To delete a custom object:
From the object management settings for custom objects, click Del next to object that you want to delete.
When prompted, select the Yes, I want to delete the custom object checkbox to confirm and click Delete.
Why Can’t I Delete a Certain Custom Object?
You can’t delete a custom object if it:
Is on the master side of a master-detail relationship.
Contains custom fields that are used in a roll-up summary field on another object.
Is referenced in Apex, a Visualforce page, or an reporting snapshot.
Is referenced by a duplicate rule or a matching rule.
Contains more than 100,000 records. If the object you want to delete has more than 100,000 records, first delete an appropriate number of records and then delete the object.
Results of Deleting Custom Objects
When you delete a custom object, Salesforce:
Displays an Insufficient Privileges message if someone clicks a bookmark to a deleted custom object record’s URL.
Removes the object from Force.com AppExchange packages.
Changes the master-detail relationship to a lookup relationship, if the deleted object is on the detail side of a master-detail relationship.
Removes or erases:
The object’s custom tab
List views and workflow rules for the object
Mobile configuration settings, including data sets, mobile views, and excluded fields
Standard report types associated with the object, and reports based on standard report types if the deleted object is on the detail side of a master-detail relationship
Hides, inactivates, or disables:
The custom object definition and related definitions
The object’s records and related records, including any records in the Recycle Bin
Custom report types for which the deleted object is the main object
Custom reports for which the deleted object is the main object
Custom formula fields on the object
Custom validation rules and approval processes on the object
Many removed, hidden, inactive, or disabled items can be restored if you undelete the custom object. See Manage Deleted Custom Objects for information about restoring deleted custom objects.
Results of Hard Deleting Custom Objects
When a custom object is hard deleted, either manually, or automatically after 15 days:
The custom object’s definition and data are permanently deleted, and can’t be restored.
The custom object and its data no longer count against your organization’s limits.
If the deleted object is on the detail side of a master-detail relationship, master records currently in the Recycle Bin aren’t restorable if one or more detail records were automatically deleted as a result of the master record being deleted. Attempting to undelete the master record results in an error.
This only happens when the deleted detail records have their custom object definition hard deleted while the master record is in the Recycle Bin.