Loading
Salesforce Enforces New Security Requirements in Summer 2026Read More
Manage Users and Data Access
Asynchronous Deletion of Obsolete Shares

Asynchronous Deletion of Obsolete Shares

Obsolete shares are removed asynchronously after groups are deleted or users are deactivated so that admins can perform other operations without waiting for shares to be deleted.

Required Editions

Available in: both Salesforce Classic and Lightning Experience
Available in: Professional, Enterprise, Performance, Unlimited, and Developer Editions

Many sharing operations have an immediate impact on the visibility of records within the system. For example, deleting a group revokes the access granted to that group via sharing rules or manual shares. When deleting a group, the shares to the group become obsolete. Obsolete shares are deleted asynchronously during off-peak hours to minimize wait time during this operation.

Members of these groups lose access to records immediately. Users higher than these members in the role hierarchy also lose access to the records.

  • Public groups
  • Queues
  • Roles
  • Territories

When deactivating a user, the user’s manually assigned shares and their team shares are deleted asynchronously. Until the obsolete shares are deleted, users higher in the role hierarchy retain access to the records associated with these shares. If that visibility is a concern, remove the record access granted to the user before deactivating the account. All other user-related share types are deleted immediately when the user is deactivated.

 
Loading
Salesforce Help | Article