You are here:
Defer Group Membership Calculations
If you’re making changes to groups or related features that affect many records, you can temporarily suspend automatic group membership calculations and resume them after you finish your updates. You must resume calculations and do a full sharing rule recalculation, or you can experience sharing inconsistencies in your records.
Required Editions
| Available in: both Salesforce Classic and Lightning Experience |
| Available in: Enterprise, Performance, Unlimited, and Developer Editions |
| User Permissions Needed | |
|---|---|
| To defer (suspend and resume) sharing calculations: | Manage Users AND Manage Sharing Calculation Deferral |
When you make changes to roles, territories, groups, or users, or change ownership of portal accounts, group membership is automatically recalculated to add or remove access as necessary. Changes can include adding or removing a user from a group or changing a role to allow access to different sets of reports.
If you’re making large-scale changes that can cause performance issues or group membership calculation timeouts, you can temporarily defer group membership calculations before you make your changes. After you make your changes, you must resume group membership calculations and do a full sharing recalculation. Review Considerations for Making Sharing Updates before deferring group membership calculations.
Group membership locking can also still occur while sharing calculations are deferred.
We recommend that you resume sharing calculations immediately after making your changes, and then start the full sharing rule recalculation as soon as possible during a period of low activity. By resuming sharing immediately, new updates are processed immediately, meaning there are fewer changes that must be recalculated. Completing the full sharing recalculation in a timely manner then ensures that record access behaves as expected without significant lag time.
- From Setup, in the Quick Find box, enter Defer Sharing Calculations, and then select Defer Sharing Calculations.
-
In the Group Membership Calculations related list, click
Suspend.
Note Suspending group membership calculations also suspends sharing rule calculations. - Make your changes to roles, territories, groups, users, or portal account ownership.
- To enable group membership calculations again, click Resume. Group membership and sharing rule recalculation begin automatically.
-
To recalculate sharing rules, select Yes when asked if you want
to automatically recalculate sharing rules. Or, in the Sharing Rule Calculations related
list, click Recalculate.
Important After you resume group membership calculations, you must do a full sharing rule recalculation. Otherwise, changes that you made while calculations were suspended aren’t reflected in record access.
