Loading
Salesforce Enforces New Security Requirements in Summer 2026Read More
Manage Users and Data Access
Recalculate Sharing Rules Manually

Recalculate Sharing Rules Manually

When you make changes to sharing settings, groups, roles, and territories, sharing rules are reevaluated to add or remove access as necessary. You can manually recalculate sharing rules if sharing rule updates have failed or aren’t working as expected.

Required Editions

Available in: both Salesforce Classic and Lightning Experience

Available in: Professional, Enterprise, Performance, Unlimited, and Developer Editions

See Sharing Rule Considerations for more information on availability.

User Permissions Needed
To recalculate sharing rules: Manage Sharing

Sharing rule recalculation occurs automatically after adding or removing individual users from a group, role, or territory, changing which role a particular role reports to, changing which territory a particular territory is subordinate to, or adding or removing a group from within another group.

You can also recalculate sharing rules manually using the Recalculate buttons on the Sharing Rules related lists. Manually recalculate sharing rules only if updates have failed or record access isn’t working as expected. Because recalculating sharing rules can take a while, you only want to initiate a manual recalculation in case of errors.

Note
Note If enabled in your org, you can temporarily defer sharing rule calculations. This feature is useful for large-scale maintenance operations or org realignments planned during low activity periods in your org. After this work is completed, you must resume sharing rule calculations and manually initiate a full sharing rule recalculation to prevent errors. For more information, see Defer Sharing Calculations.

To manually recalculate an object’s sharing rules:

  1. From Setup, in the Quick Find box, enter Sharing Settings, and then select Sharing Settings.
  2. In the Sharing Rules related list for the object you want, click Recalculate.
  3. If you want to monitor the progress of a recalculation, from Setup, in the Quick Find box, enter Background Jobs, and then select Background Jobs.

You receive an email notification when the recalculation is completed for all affected objects.

Note
Note The Recalculate button is disabled when group membership or sharing rule calculations are deferred.
  • Automatic Recalculation of Org-Wide Defaults and Sharing Rules
    When you update organization-wide defaults or sharing rules, automatic sharing recalculation is processed asynchronously and in parallel.
  • Asynchronous Deletion of Obsolete Shares
    Obsolete shares are removed asynchronously after groups are deleted or users are deactivated so that admins can perform other operations without waiting for shares to be deleted.
  • Object-Specific Share Locks
    When you create, edit, or delete a sharing rule, recalculation runs to update record access in your Salesforce org. This operation can take some time if you have many users and records. The object-specific share locks feature enables you to make changes to a sharing rule for other objects simultaneously, depending on the objects affected by the sharing rules, sharing rule type, and target groups or roles of the affected users.
 
Loading
Salesforce Help | Article