Considerations for Deactivating Users | Salesforce
Considerations for Deactivating Users
Be aware of the following behaviors when deactivating users.
Available in: Salesforce Classic
Available in: Contact Manager, Group, Professional, Enterprise, Performance, Unlimited, Developer, and Database.com Editions
User licenses and billing
A deactivated user doesn't count against your organization’s available user licenses. However, deactivating a user doesn't reduce the number of licenses for which your organization is billed. To change your billing, you must change your organization’s license count.
Users in custom hierarchy fields
You can't deactivate a user that’s selected in a custom hierarchy field even if you delete the field. To deactivate a user in a custom hierarchy field, delete and permanently erase the field first.
Workflow email alert recipients
You can’t deactivate a user that’s assigned as the sole recipient of a workflow email alert.
Customer Portal Administrator users
You can't deactivate a user that’s selected as a Customer Portal
Deactivated users lose access to any records that were manually shared with them, or records that were shared with them as team members. Users higher in the role hierarchy relative to the deactivated users also lose access to those records. However, you can still transfer their data to other users and view their names on the Users page.
If your organization has Asynchronous Deletion of Obsolete Shares (Pilot) enabled, removal of manual and team shares is run during off-peak hours between 6 PM and 4 AM based on your organization’s default time zone. For account records, manual and team shares are deleted right after user deactivation.
Deactivated users lose access to shared records immediately. Users higher in the role hierarchy continue to have access until that access is deleted asynchronously. If that visibility is a concern, remove the record access that’s granted to the deactivated users before deactivation.
If you deactivate users in an organization where Chatter is enabled, they’re removed from Following and Followers lists. If you reactivate the users, the subscription information in the Following and Followers lists is restored.
If you deactivate multiple users, subscription information isn’t restored for users that follow each other. For example, user A follows user B and user B follows user A. If you deactivate users A and B, their subscriptions to each other are deleted from Following and Followers lists. If user A and user B are then reactivated, their subscriptions to each other aren’t restored.
Files owned by a deactivated user are not deleted. The deactivated user is the file owner until an admin reassigns the files to an active user. Files shared in a content library can be edited by other library members with author or delete permissions. Sharing rules remain active until an admin modifies them.
Created By fields
It's possible for inactive users to be listed in Created By fields even when they’re no longer active in an organization. This happens because some system operations create records and toggle preferences, acting as an arbitrary administrator user to complete the task. This user can be active or inactive.
Accounts and opportunities owned by deactivated users
You can create and edit accounts, opportunities, and custom object records that are owned by inactive users. For example, you can edit the Account Name field on an opportunity record that’s owned by an inactive user. To enable this feature, contact Salesforce.
Territories and forecasting
Deactivated users continue to own opportunities and appear in forecasts and territories. When users are deactivated, their opportunity forecast overrides, adjusted total overrides, and manager's choice overrides on subordinates' forecasts are frozen. However, the manager of a deactivated user can apply manager's choice overrides to that user's forecasts. Rollup amounts are kept current. If a deactivated user is later reactivated, the user can resume normal work as before. If “Allow Forecasting” is disabled for a user who is deactivated, the user is removed from any territories he or she is assigned to.
Opportunity and account teams
Deactivated users are removed from the default opportunity and account teams of other users. The deactivated users' default opportunity and account teams are not removed.
If a user on an account team has Read/Write access (Account Access, Contact Access, Opportunity Access, and Case Access) and is deactivated, the access will default to Read Only if the user is reactivated.
If you deactivate users in an organization where opportunity splitting is enabled, they aren’t removed from any opportunity teams where they’re assigned a split percentage. To remove a user from an opportunity team, first reassign the split percentage.
Delegated external user administrators
When a delegated external user admin deactivates a portal user, the admin doesn’t have the option to remove the portal user from teams that user is a member of.